In 1994 the Scholarship Ministry of the chapel awarded its first scholarship to Timothy Shannon, a member of Mt. Olive Missionary Baptist Church in Riviera Beach, Florida. Since then the program has assisted over 250 students.

Scholars are chosen annually based on financial need, articulation and presentation during the interview process, academic record, community involvement, church involvement, goals and leadership qualities. Each applicant must apply by the given deadline in early March and include letters of recommendation from their pastor, community service leader or teacher, and a friend.

Funding for the scholarships is received through numerous sources; previous Christmas Boutique proceeds, individual Chapel Scholarship endowments, gifts made from Chapel members, in addition to budgeted money from the Chapel’s operating fund.

The Chapel has 18 Endowed Scholarships. The Christmas Boutique has contributed funds over the years to endow 9 of these at a level of $40,000 each from which the interest of each funds annual scholarship assistance. The scholarships are named in gratitude to God for Henry Morrison Flagler, the Chapel founder, our current pastor, Dr. Robert S. Norris, and seven revered former pastors; Dr. William Edward Biederwolf, Rev. John Edward Charlton, Dr. Richard M. Cromie, Dr. Thomas W. Kirkman, Dr. Samuel McCauley Lindsay, Dr. John U. Miller, and Dr. George Morgan Ward.

In addition to the Boutique Endowed Scholarships, there are 9 Privately Endowed Scholarships in memory or honor of family and loved ones. A gift of $40,000 fully endows a scholarship. The privately Endowed Scholarships are named in memory of Donald Carmichael, Dr. and Mrs. C. Sherman Holman, Isabella Marian Kean, Robert Kean, and Charles H. Warwick, IV. Other scholarships have been named in honor of Anne Carmichael, The Harold Hogg Family, Debra W. Norris, and in celebration of the Sea Gull Cottage where the first Christmas Boutique was held. Interest is added annually where earned on the principal funds of each held scholarship.

Scholarships for the 2010-2011 year have been awarded. For up-to-date information and student application forms for the 2011-2012 academic year, students are invited to contact Scholarship Committee Co-Chair Debbie Norris at the Chapel Office.